Entry Requirements for Kenya

Visa and Vaccination Requirements visa
The requirements you will need when entering Kenya always differ depending on your country of origin. There are some country residents who don’t need a visa to enter Kenya so before planning your trip to Kenya, it’s advisable to make research to find out where you need a visa to enter Kenya or if you need to apply online.

To enter Kenya, you must be in possession of a passport that is still valid for 6 months beyond the duration of the trip. In case you coming from countries that need a visa to enter Kenya you can apply online on the website http://evisa.go.ke/evisa.html. The visa fee is $50 and must be paid by credit card during the online application.

Children’s entries in a parent’s passport will not be allowed, each child needs their own identification document.

Busia One Stop Border

A yellow fever vaccination card is not required when entering Kenya if you are traveling directly from Europe and in case you have stayed more than 12 hours in a yellow fever area (tropical areas of Africa and Central and South America) before entering Kenya, you will need a yellow fever vaccination certificate to be allowed to enter Kenya.

It’s also recommended to check the standard vaccinations for children and adults on the occasion of a trip in accordance with the current vaccination calendar of the Robert Koch Institute. For adults, this includes vaccinations against tetanus, diphtheria, pertussis (whooping cough), and possibly also against polio (polio), mumps, measles, rubella (MMR), and influenza. Hepatitis A and typhoid are recommended travel vaccinations, as well as hepatitis B, rabies, and meningococcal disease (ACWY) for long-term stays or special exposure.

Countries that don’t need visas to enter Kenya

All passport holders of the countries in the list below don’t need to apply for a visa to enter Kenya. Your passport will be stamped at the point of entry, as long as your reason for visa meets the immigration rules. This means you can be allowed to stay in Kenya for 90 days.

African Countries

• Zimbabwe
• Zambia
• Uganda
• The Gambia
• Tanzania
• Swaziland
• South Africa
• Sierra Leone
• Seychelles
• Rwanda
• Namibia
• Mauritius
• Malawi
• Lesotho
• Lesotho
• Ghana
• Burundi
• Botswana

Australia & Oceania

• Fiji Island
• Nauru
• Kiribati
• Samoa
• Papua New Guinea
• Tonga
• Solomon Islands
• Vanuatu
• Tuvalu


  • Cyprus
  • Maldives
  • Singapore
  • Malaysia

North America

  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Jamaica
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and The Grenadines
  • The Bahamas
  • Trinidad and Tobago